silentflow.blogg.se

Set up files for emails i need to keep on my mac air
Set up files for emails i need to keep on my mac air














Surprisingly often I do find that I want to find and review a conversation from 2003 or 2006.Įmailchemy does work although I used Eudora Mailbox Cleaner for my own migration from Eudora (read the notes there and at Tidbits to fully understand just how hard email migration/archiving is).

set up files for emails i need to keep on my mac air

Set up files for emails i need to keep on my mac air archive#

The other advantage of keeping all your mail in Apple Mail is that it's a single archive to search. In the end, I partially gave up after making several archives and decided to keep a structured master archive on my main work computer (we're talking about 20 GB of email) just to be sure that I have a single copy in a very standard format Apple Mail 4.6 (Snow Leopard edition) with more or less attachments still attached for the last seven years (most Eudora attachments are listed and are findable but are not directly attached to the email). I've used all of the solutions above and many more (see below). I want to be able to access all the emails in their structure, but through my hard drive instead of having them show in Mac Mail.Įmail archiving is hard. I don't want to export all the emails from my current Mac, then reimport them to my new Mac Mail. How can I do this drag and drop method for all the folders and all emails within those folders, to save them on an external hard drive. If you select multiple emails and drag and drop, only one email is transferred. If you select an individual email in Mac Mail, then drag and drop it to a desktop folder, for example, it saves it as an email which you can open from the desktop folder without it having to be stored in your Mac Mail. I wish to save all of the individual emails in a folder on an external hard drive as I am moving to a new Mac and want to have access to these emails, but not import them to Mac Mail on my new Mac.

set up files for emails i need to keep on my mac air

In my Mac Mail I have all my emails saved to my Mac, as opposed to on my mail server using iMap.Īll the emails are organised with a large number of folders and sub folders, again all of which are saved straight to my Mac.














Set up files for emails i need to keep on my mac air